Popularity of Visual Content

Image

Visuals are extremely engaging content. There are social media platforms dedicated just to them and some of those platforms allow for both photos and videos.  The main channels centered on visuals are YouTube, Instagram, Pinterest and Vine.

If your brand has any type of video content, it is imperative that you utilize YouTube. According to How To Make YouTube Part Of Your Social Media Marketing, YouTube is second most popular search engine and it only serves up videos. The reason to be on YouTube is because it allows you to be found when users are doing a search. It also will pull your videos up into the related video area. YouTube can be accessed from almost all mobile devices. The one point that stuck with my from this article was to not hide your videos on your website. I’m guilty of this. I get greedy for website traffic and forget that YouTube is just another way to distribute video content and serve it up to those users who are searching for something on that platform.

I have a hard time agreeing with the article Research: YouTube beats Facebook with consumers. They said users reported use of YouTube ahead of all other social sites. I find this hard to believe because I’m not a big user of YouTube. What I can agree with them on is that brands are planning to increase their video budgets. I know at my job we’ve put a big emphasis on video content and are making it a priority. That means increasing the budget and possibly taking away from other things we’ve done in the past. Video content is too popular to ignore it at this point and it has to be a priority if you want users to find you in certain places on the web.

While I may not spend much time on YouTube, I spend way too much time on Pinterest. I can believe it when the article Why You Should Not Ignore Pinterest in Your Social Media Strategy says that users spend more time on Pinterest than on Twitter, Google+ and LinkedIn combined. I love PInterest because it allows me to look through fun categories of content and store the ideas I like in a very organized way. The reason it has so much success for inbound traffic generation is because the content isn’t stored on Pinterest. The link to the content is represented by a photo and to consume the content you are taken back to where it was posted originally. No matter how many times a “pin” is shared, the link back to your website will remain.

The article Move Over, Facebook: Why Your Business Needs to Be on Pinterest says that businesses need to take a look at Pinterest. I’m not sure all businesses fit with Pinterest. The important thing is to find out if Pinterest is a place where your consumers spend time and if it isn’t then don’t waste your time. I work for a company that doesn’t sell anything. We promote our events and athletes and I have a hard time finding uses for our content on Pinterest.

Pinterest requires a special strategy. Your content needs to fit into the popular categories on the platform and with food and drink, DIY crafts and home décor being the most popular ones. A good way to incorporate Pinterest into your website would be to add “pin it” buttons on content. This allows users to easily share your content on Pinterest.

Vine and Instagram are two of the latest social platforms to become popular. When Instagram launched their video function, I think it put an end to Vine’s popularity. I only dabbled a little in videos on Vine but decided I didn’t need two apps where I could post short videos. Instagram won out. I’m sure there are people that agree and disagree with that same choice.

Do you find yourself using YouTube as a search engine?

When it comes down to posting short videos, do you prefer Vine or Instagram?

8 thoughts on “Popularity of Visual Content

  1. I hadn’t used YouTube as a search engine until recently. I don’t think it will ever replace Google for me but I will cross-reference it when I want to find some of my technical questions. It’s so awesome for how-to information. My husband goes to YouTube for everything. He’s always had success when trying to teach himself something new when using it.

    I’ve never created a Vine or Instagram video but I’m anxious to try to make a stop-go animation on Vine. I recently told my sister she should try it out with her kids. I think you can get really creative with it. If I intend to create something longer than 6 seconds, I would probably just do it through YouTube. I’m not sure if Instagram would even cross my mind.

    • I watch plenty of YouTube videos, I just don’t ever go searching for them on the platform. I see them shared through social channels. The how tos are great. I just have to remember to utilize it more often.

      What I need to do is learn on YouTube how to make those stop go animations on Vine. They are cool.

  2. It’s funny, I’ve never thought of YouTube as a search engine before this week, but I search on it all the time. Working in the healthcare industry, I’m often looking for animations or health and wellness visual content to incorporate in projects we’re working on or hope to in the future. I’m like most people according to our readings this week: I like to see how something works or hearing about a product before buying it.

    When it comes to posting short videos, I have both Instagram and Vine. So far, I’ve used both minimally for video. But since I use Instagram for photos, I could see myself using that app more for videos as well, just for the convenience. Plus, it’s hard to get everything into 6 seconds, although it does push a person’s creativity!

    • I just need to remember to search YouTube. I don’t think of it very often. There were features to Vine I didn’t like. You couldn’t go back and delete a part if you messed up. You have to start all over. Instagram lets you delete pieces and not start over. A win for Instagram.

  3. Hi Stacy!

    I can honestly say I’ve never use YouTube as a search engine tool. I’m a devoted Googler – that’s for sure! I’ve really never considered YouTube as a search engine until this week actually. It definitely comes in handy when I’m looking for a live performance from my favorite singers and bands, or if I’m looking for a certain clip from a movie or television show.

    I’ve never once posted a video on either Vine or Instgram! I actually deleted my Vine app pretty recently (to make room for that iOS.7 update)! I only used to follow my nieces back home…literally no other reason. I have a hard time seeing the benefit, from a business standpoint, or these video outlets. I’m sure there is one – just having a hard time finding a clear reason! Since I Instagram pretty much everything in my life, if I were to use a video service, it would probably be Instagram. I do love watching when my friends post adorable videos of their kids saying/doing hilarious things.

    -Lacee

    • I’m a googler too. This week has reinforced how important it is for businesses since it is a popular search engine for others.

      Stacy Shanks LPGA.com

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  4. I have definitely used YouTube as a search engine before, mainly for music or to prove a point. If I’m trying to learn how to do something, I will often times Google it first and end up on YouTube. Might be smart to just skip the middle man.

    I prefer Intagram over Vine; Insta allows for editing, filters and uploads. Also, Insta allows for photos and video, which vine does not. I am always going to use Insta for both personal and professional reasons because of the photos alone. Adding video helps me eliminate the need to use Vine as well.

    • I agree with you on Instagram. They are the whole package. And on Vine you can’t delete a portion of the video you have to start alllll over. I found that really annoying. Better get it on the first try.

Leave a Reply

